Narendra Modi's Council Of Ministers Takes Oath in ParliamentTop Stories

June 24, 2024 12:54
Narendra Modi's Council Of Ministers Takes Oath in Parliament

The opening of the new Parliament session is underway, with the recently elected members, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, taking their oaths. Bhartruhari Mahtab, a BJP MP, was the first to be sworn in as the Pro-Tem Speaker by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan. He then called on the Prime Minister to take the oath as a member of the House. Approximately 280 newly-elected MPs are being sworn in today, while the remaining 260 parliamentarians, including Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, will take their oaths tomorrow. Ahead of the crucial parliamentary session, PM Modi has criticized the Congress party, calling the Emergency a "blot" on democracy. He has expressed hope that the Opposition will fulfill its role in Parliament, stating that the people want substance, debate, and diligence, not just slogans and disruptions. The appointment of Bhartruhari Mahtab as the Pro-Tem Speaker, a traditionally senior position, has drawn criticism from the Congress party, which was expecting Kodikunnil Suresh, a Dalit leader and an eight-time MP from Kerala, to be named to the role.

The new Lok Sabha will convene on June 26 to choose its Speaker. Until then, a temporary Speaker will preside over the initial sessions and oversee the election of the permanent Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to announce the name of the new Speaker two days after the first sitting of the 18th Lok Sabha. Once the Speaker is elected by a simple majority, the temporary Speaker's role will end. The Opposition is also anticipated to raise concerns about alleged irregularities in the NEET and NET competitive exams. In response, the government has replaced the head of the National Testing Agency and formed a panel to review the agency's operations and suggest exam reforms. Additionally, the government has enacted a strict law aimed at curbing malpractices and irregularities in competitive exams, which includes penalties of up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to Rs 1 crore for offenders.

Rahul Gandhi, a member of the Congress party in parliament, stated that he will bring up the matter in the legislative assembly, and the opposition parties will exert pressure on the ruling government to ensure fair treatment for the students. President Droupadi Murmu is scheduled to deliver a speech before both the lower and upper houses of the Indian parliament on June 27th. During this address, she may present the new government's plan for the upcoming five-year period. This parliamentary session is expected to end on July 3rd.

(Video Source: Narendra Modi)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)