Lok Sabha Elections 2019: PM Modi To Contest From Varanasi AgainTop Stories

March 22, 2019 10:46
Lok Sabha Elections 2019: PM Modi To Contest From Varanasi Again

(Image source from: tosshub.com)

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced its first list for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Primes Minister Narendra Modi to fight from holy town of Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.

As expected the name of BJP President Amit Shah featured in list and he will contest from Gujarat’s Capital Gandhinagar replacing Veteran Leader Lal Krishna Advani.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari will once again fight from Lucknow and Nagpur respectively.

One of the interesting battle to watch out in 2019 General Elections is of  Amethi Lok Sabha seat. It will be fought between Union Minister Smriti Irani and Congress President Rahul Gandhi. According to the news reports Rahul Gandhi may also contest from second seat in upcoming elections. Congress leaders from Karnataka are trying to convince their President to fight from one of the seat in Karnataka.

Several senior leaders, including Advani and others like Murli Manohar Joshi who is the sitting MP from Kanpur in Uttar Pradesh , Garhwal MP BC Khanduri, Nainital MP Bhagat Singh Koshyari and Guwahati MP Bijoya Chakravarty did not figure in the BJP’s first list.

Union minister Kalraj Mishra who is an MP from Uttar Pradesh state announced that he will not contest the election this time.

And other prominent leaders in first list are Union Ministers VK Singh from Ghaziabad, Mahesh Sharma from Gautam Buddha Nagar and Satyapal Singh from Baghpat who defeated RLD Chief Ajit Singh. Actor turned politician Hema Malini to once again fight from Mathura Lok Sabha constituency.  

A total of 184 candidates announced by Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday.

By Sai Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)