BJP gets a rude shock in the Assembly Poll BattleTop Stories

May 03, 2021 10:19
BJP gets a rude shock in the Assembly Poll Battle

(Image source from:

The counting for the Assembly elections that conducted recently took place on Sunday and BJP received a rude shock for the saffron party across the country. West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry. BJP under performed in all the states and this made it clear that BJP is rejected and a negative wave is all over against the national party which is ruling the country in the Centre. All eyes are focused on West Bengal and Mamata Banerjee is back with a bang and her party AITC bagged 213 seats out of the 294 constituencies of the state. BJP had to settle with just 77 seats which is a huge jolt for Prime Minister Narendra Modi. There was a huge confusion in Nandigram where Mamata contested. The Election Commission initially announced that Mamata Banerjee won with 1200 votes but later it was declared that BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari is the winner with 1700 vote margin.

The recounting began on Sunday night and Mamata is in plans to approach the court about the same. In another interesting battle, DMK dethroned the AIADMK in Tamil Nadu and ended up with full majority. DMK bagged 133 constituencies out of the 234 seats and AIADMK had to settle with 66 seats. BJP performed poor and got 4 seats. Kamal Haasan lost in the polls and his party failed to get a single seat in the Assembly polls. In Kerala, CPM retained the power and Pinarayi Vijayan will take the oath as the Chief Minister soon. BJP had some domination in the Assam Assembly elections and bagged 60 seats out of the 126. Here are the results of the Assembly polls that are declared yesterday:

West Bengal Results: 294 seats

AITC: 213
BJP: 77
Others: 2

Tamil Nadu Results: 234 seats

DMK: 133
Congress: 18
PMK: 5
VCK: 4
BJP: 4
CPI: 2
CPM: 2

Kerala Results: 140 seats

CPM: 62
Congress: 21
CPI: 17
IUML: 15
KEC: 5
Others: 20

Assam Results: 126 seats

BJP: 60
Congress: 29
AGP: 9
BPF: 4
Others: 8

Puducherry: 30 seats

BJP: 6
DMK: 6
Congress: 2
Others: 6

By Siva Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)