AAP records a narrow victory against BJP in the Delhi Civic PollsTop Stories

December 07, 2022 17:29
AAP records a narrow victory against BJP in the Delhi Civic Polls

(Image source from: Twitter.com/AamAadmiParty)

It has been a tough fight between the ruling AAP and the national party BJP in the New Delhi Municipal Corporation polls that were held recently. AAP had a narrow and comfortable win in the civic polls. This is also the biggest margins of victory in the civic polls across 250 municipal wards. Chittaranjan Park in South Delhi witnessed a margin of 44 votes. The biggest margin was in Chandani Mahal and AAP candidate won against Congress candidate. Out of the 250 wards, 12 witnessed candidates winning with a lesser margin of 200 votes. Eight among them are won by BJP and four were won by AAP. AAP’s Ashu Thakur registered 10,443 votes beating Kanchan Choudhary of BJP who bagged 10,399 votes. The next lowest margin was 54 votes in Nand Nagri in ward no 220.

The next lowest margin was 91 votes in the ward of Alipur. Shakurpur, Molarband, Raghubir Nagar, Ashok Vihar, Deoli, Burari, Keshopur, Mandawali and Adarsh Nagar are the other wards with less margin. Most of the candidates of the AAP and BJP are equally powerful and the campaign was huge because of which there was a less margin between the candidates. Congress lost trace in most of the wards. AAP's candidate Aaley Mohammmed Iqbal reported a huge victory with a margin of 17,134 votes against Mohammad Hamid of Congress who got only 2065 votes. BJP had no traces in this region. Shagufta Chaudhary Zubair of Congress won by a margin of 15,193 votes in Chauhan Banger in northeast part of Delhi. She got 21,131 votes against Asma Begum of AAP who only got 5938 votes. Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal thanked the people of Delhi for their trust and the victory in the civic polls.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)