How Jasprit Bumrah’s fielding mistake costed India a Huge wicketCricket

December 18, 2020 18:55
How Jasprit Bumrah’s fielding mistake costed India a Huge wicket

(Image source from:

What was fairly an easy catch for a cricket player, Jasprit Bumrah dropped a big wicket during the Test Match in the India vs. Australia Test Match- The Border-Gavaskar trophy.

After folding for 244 runs in the first innings, Jasprit Bumrah dismissed both Australian openers Matthew Wade and Joe Burns. This helped the Indian team reach dinner on Day 2 with high confidence. Although Bumrah was highly appreciated for his bowling skills, he was criticized as much for his fielding.

With Shami bowling a brilliant over, losing Marnus Labushagne’s wicket was vital. However, Jasprit’s error in judgment at the fence just moments before the dinner break denied the team of what confidence they were previously feeling.

The ball went to the bowler at a pretty catch-able height but he is unaware of where the ropes were and made an error in judgement

Australia were 35/2 at the end of first session on Day 2. The magnitude of the situation could have been worse for the hosts had Bumrah held onto that catch at the fence but he would hope to make up for that with his bowling in the remaining sessions.

Jasprit Bumrah is considered the number one bowler in the world according to ICC rankings.

By Meena Atmakuri

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Test match  Jasprit Bumrah  India  Australia