Modi Pays Tribute To 2001 Parliament Attack VictimsJust In

December 14, 2020 12:02
Modi Pays Tribute To 2001 Parliament Attack Victims

(Image source from:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Union home minister Amit Shah and defense minister Rajnath Singh also paid tributes at a brief ceremony which was held outside the Parliament building.

Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairperson M Venkaiah Naidu, Om Birla, Union ministers and opposition leaders paid tribute to those who have lost their lives at the 2001 Parliament attack at the Parliament Complex.

The members who were present observed a moment of silence as a mark of respect for the martyrs. 

Tribute to Parliament attack victims(Image Source:

In 2001, on December 13, terrorists of the Laskhar-e-Taiba (LeT) and the Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) attacked the Parliament complex. They open fired, killing 11 people including five Delhi police personnel, a woman central reserve police force trooper, two parliament watch and ward staff, a gardener and photojournalist.

In retaliatory action, five terrorists were shot dead by security forces. 

The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind took to twitter to pay respect to the brave martyrs who laid down their lives defending the parliament.

Other important political figures took their opinions toTwitter to show their respect and honor for these martyrs. The incident also led to a high level tension between the countries India and Pakistan. This incident also caused a massive upgrade in security for the Parliament complex. 

- Meena Atmakuri

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Parliament  Terrorism  Modi  President  Martyr